June 18, 2016

25th anniversary of the International Clinical Phonetics and Linguistics Association

Today ICPLA celebrated its 25th anniversary at the business meeting in Halifax, Canada. ICPLA was formed in March 1991 at the Symposium on Advances in Clinical Phonetics held at the Cardiff Institute of Higher Education, Wales. The current Executive Board members are:
  • President: Hanne Gram Simonsen (Norway)
  • Vice President: Sharynne McLeod (Australia)
  • Secretary/treasurer/web: Marie Klopfenstein (USA)
  • Ex-officio: Clinical Linguistics and Phonetics
  • Editors: Martin J. Ball/Nicole Müller (Sweden)
At the business meeting six people were honoured as Life Members of ICPLA:
William J. Hardcastle, Martin J. Ball, Nicole Müller, Sara Howard, Michael R. Perkins, Thomas W. Powell.

Michael Kiefte, Sharynne McLeod, Hanne Gram Simonsen, Martin Ball, Nicole Muller, Bill Hardcastle